About the Portland Reading Council

Founded in 1957

The Portland Reading Council promotes literacy and a lifelong love of reading in our communities through the empowerment of educators.

We are an affiliate of the Oregon State Literacy Association and the International Literacy Association.

2021-22 Board Meetings (location TBA)                                                                                       October 2    December 11     February 12     April 9

Contact us for more information about attending a board meeting: portlandreadingcouncil@gmail.com

 Annual Projects, Programs, and Communications

• The African-American Read-In                 • Literacy Educator Scholarship                              • Celebrate Literacy Awards                         • Literacy Shout Outs!                                                  Teachers As Readers Book Groups          • Patricia Gallagher Children’s Choice Award       • Community Service Project Grants           • Literacy Meet Ups                                                    • Members-Only Listserv &  Facebook page                                                                                      • Professional Development Events

Co-Presidents:                                                                                                                                        Jen Arndt, West Linn Wilsonville and Francesca Aultman, David Douglas                      Secretary: Stephanie Mesenbrink, Reynolds                                                                          Treasurer: Laura Bush, Retired, Oregon City                                                                Membership: Penny Plavala, Multnomah ESD  

Photos of Current and Former Board Members




Board members at CL